TopResume Reviews

True information about one of the most prominent resume writing services

When you’re looking for the best resume writing service, you’re looking for that ideal one, because a lot depends on your resume. The perfect resume can make the difference between you getting a job, or missing the chance to get it. TopResume is on our list of resume services to reviews, as we’ve seen many topresume.com reviews and we were intrigued by them.

They are a fairly new company on the market of resume writing, and there aren’t that many topresume reviews that go into detail about their services. We wanted to cover it all and so we did. Stay tuned to find out whether their resume writing service is legit, and whether their resumes are going to actually assist you in getting a great job. Once you have all the details, you can be the judge yourself. We weren’t really impressed to that point that we wanted to recommend them to our audience.

Quality

First of all, quality matters the most. Their team is made of recruiters, professional writers and career specialists who claim to have profound knowledge on how resume writing is done. You don’t actually get to choose which writer works on your resume. Which is a disadvantage, because you can’t communicate properly what exactly you want.

The samples indicate that the quality of resumes could be better. They don’t look like the kind of resume that would stand out in the flock of all other resumes. And in the competitive job market, you need to have a top-notch resume in your hands, one that’s going to make people say: ‘WOW!’. Their resumes definitely don’t have that WOW factor.

List of Services and Prices

They offer three kinds of resume packages: Professional Growth, Career Evolution and Executive Priority. The cheapest package is priced at $149, and the most expensive one $349. Each package offers something different, and has additional features. If you go for the priciest package, you’ll get the best writers working on your resume, and you’ll receive a cover letter to go along with it.

They are definitely of the priciest companies out there. Among other services that they offer are: federal resume writing, LinkedIn Profile writing, Military transition resume, Academic CV writing and free resume critique.

Customer Service and Delivery

Their customer service is pretty basic, and they have the usual options for contacting, such as telephone and live chat. All in all, nothing revolutionary. We personally wanted to find out more about their topresume discount code, which we’ve seen online through several other reviews we read. One of the representatives never even heard about it, which was disappointing. Their website also doesn’t offer any options to find a topresume.com coupon, which is also a disadvantage given that they are on the pricier side.

Depending on the package you choose, the deadline for delivery is different. If you want your resume to be delivered in a timely manner, you have to get the most expensive package, which might not fit your budget. Alternatively, you just have to be patient or opt for another service, that can cater to you in a timelier manner, for a cheaper price.

User Reviews

Scam. They tricked me into paying $349 for a resume. They wanted a job description of a job that I would like to get. They then made me fill out a questionnaire which was basically me formulating my own resume. And I was promised that I would have a first draft within a week. After 10 days and many missed job opportunities. I still did not have any form of resume in my inbox or anyone who contacted me with questions. I asked for a cancellation and they said there was $100 fee. I have now currently send all emails to my attorney. And we will see what will happen from there. Avoid this at all cost because you will end up writing your own resume so save yourself the money.

December 12, 2019
Kasey Campbell

Top Resume is a total scam. An absolute ripoff. They take an extremely long time to deliver anything and what they deliver are the most generic, poor quality and inaccurate materials. They don’t properly respond to feedback or complaints; won’t issue refunds; and do not deliver what they promised. Stay away from them.

February 25, 2019
Alex H

I received an offer for a free resume review at HigherEd website. The review was awesome from what I believed. The review said my resume was TOO long at 4 pages and should be cut to two pages. I was promised (per their website boastings) to be assigned someone with my industry experience/understanding to write a resume that would pop! What I got was a someone who clearly had no clue what my industry is AND WORSE used spellchecker incorrectly, i.e. “contradictions” instead of “contributions.” They knew NOTHING of what I do or have done and did NOT even write the resume to the job postings I was wanting the resume more tailored to for the ATS bots! I saved the government millions of dollars on a contract and I wanted that highlighted under contributions. What the writer did was simply add the same sentence multiple times under different jobs positions. When I submitted my review of the first draft I added actual job descriptions for my previous jobs and contracts and once again added the line of work I was looking for. The draft was 4 pages long and I cut it to 2 1/2 pages and returned it. The final resume draft was a full 3 pages and looked almost exactly like the first draft WITH THE SAME ERRORS! The initial review is still of value, the LinkedIn suggestions are of value and the STOCK cover letter is usable so ONE STAR instead of ZERO.

January 21, 2019
Rich.

I asked them to review my current resume and let me know what they thought of it. They said it needed a couple tweaks and they could polish it up. It took over 5 days to match me to a writer than another 3-4 days for this person to write the resume. I was absolutely floored when I receive the new resume and it wasn’t even completed. My current resume was 2 pages with 4 different jobs on it and when I got my new resume this writer only wrote out a job description for 2 of the jobs. At the bottom, she listed the other 2 jobs in small tiny print and mentioned that I also worked at these other locations. Didn’t put the job titles or anything to let employers know what the jobs actually detailed. As for the content, a 4-year-old could do a better job of writing this resume. Do yourself a favor and stay away from these illiterate clowns.

November 19, 2018
Ryan N

Ordered from them thinking it would boost my job offers. My first writer ignored me halfway through the process. They assigned a second writer so just quickly got my resume to me in an impersonal way and took no time to understand me. I then emailed about a refund when I had gotten no job offers or interviews at all after almost 60 days and they only offered to rewrite it again. Insanity!

November 12, 2018
Chris Sloan

DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY! All they do is lie and make excuses. I paid for the Career Evolution Resume Writing Package and 48-hour Rush Service. I got the first draft from the first writer assigned to me well after the 48-hours had passed and all it consisted of was thesaurus vomit and fill-in-the-blank holes. The writer kept promising she’d have it done – Saturday morning, Monday morning, Monday evening, Tuesday morning, Tuesday evening…yet nothing, nothing, nothing. Then she makes the excuse she was ill. Then she had a death in the family. I’m sorry, I really am about the personal circumstances, but she had a responsibility to tell her management she could not take on the work if that was truly the case. Meanwhile, customer service makes excuses, says they’ll refund the rush service fee. I get reassigned to a second writer and the same product – thesaurus vomit and fill-in-the-blank holes. I call and ask about the rush service refund and I get told I said the refund wasn’t necessary (why would I continue to follow-up on it then?). I provided more than adequate information to complete the resume – two previous resumes, a detailed list of accomplishments, a career synopsis, and a list of recommendations. After two weeks, all I wanted was the resume they advertised, but ultimately they decided refunding my money was a better option than dealing with me. It appears no real work was ever done on the resume, as I asked to see progress. Sorry my expectation was that if you tell someone they’ll have something by a certain time, it should actually be produced – guess that was too much to ask. I’ll be shocked if I actually get my money back.

September 5, 2018
Evie Hooper

We discovered this company on Yelp and thought why not try their resume writing service. After all, we were sure we would receive a discount as indicated on their website. We regret why we even redeemed their coupon since the work was not delivered on time as promised. Each of the resumes we ordered from topresumereviews was poorly done!

May 27, 2018
Julius P.

Topresume reviews delivers poor services and for this they received too much critique even on reddit. They will try to entice unsuspecting clients by promising a refund or even promising a coupon on your next order. However, you will not like the services and this is based on my previous experience. Ideally, the company will take orders but they deliver late after you have paid and also deliver the worst resumes.

May 1, 2018
Osama

Saw them on yelp, and here’s my honest critique. I had a discount, and I had a resume did and redone, but I wasn’t too happy with it. The quality is okay, but it’s not terrific, which is what I really wanted. I wanted more than an average resume. I asked for a refund and they gave it to me, which was okay of them.

April 7, 2018
Jenna

I read many topresume reviews, and I saw some complaints but didn’t pay too much attention to it. I saw them mentioned on reddit, so I got a resume written. It was totally fine, I liked it and the fact that I had a coupon was awesome too. I didn’t get any jobs yet, which is an indicative that it might just not be that great.

March 15, 2018
Chantal

The whole process was discouraging. After waiting the allotted time for my resume, cover letter and e-cover letter, I was presented with a resume only. After waiting a few more days, I finally received my cover letters. Following the instructions on the FAQ page, I waited over 30 days but did not receive any interest from employers in regards to my resume. I contacted topresume.com requesting a revision. I was instructed the it was over 30 days and could no longer get a free revision! CLIENTS BEWARE, this is not clear on their FAQ page! I feel as if I have been scammed and customer service was absolutely no help! I will be taking my business elsewhere, which is what I should have done to begin with!

March 5, 2018
Amy Clark

I wish I had read all those topresume reviews before I decided to order here, because I am not at all happy about this company. They keep sending one coupon for me each month, but I won’t be using this company ever again. Their writers delivered a resume four days after the agreed time, and did not even want to discuss a refund.

February 11, 2018
Gladys Trimmer

The complaints about this company were not all true in my case, but I cannot say this company is not worth any critique. The good thing about topresume.com was that I got a nice discount and it was all over reddit and yelp, but the quality of the resume I got was not TOP like they say.

February 7, 2018
Dolores Miller

I found them on yelp, and I was surprised with their prices. They were quite cheap. I didn’t have any complaints, although I personally believe that the quality of the writing itself could be a bit better, but I’m a perfectionist, so don’t mind me.

November 29, 2017
David K.

The customer support is okay, the coupon you can grab is quite nice, and overall I don’t have any bad words for them. They aren’t the best, but they get the job done, which is good enough for me. I never had any problems with them so far. You can ask for a refund if you don’t like the paper, but you can also ask for a discount for your next order.

November 21, 2017
Billy S. Harrison

My only critique would be that the customer service isn’t as fast as I would like it to be, but overall they were quite good. A lot of topresume reviews were bad, but I don’t see why. Given that there are worse services, they are quite reliable. I’ve spoken to some other people on reddit, and they agree.

November 11, 2017
Fred N.

The cover letter that came with my resume was so lame. I could have written it better. They definitely didn’t understand me, it was so superficial and not attractive at all. I had to redo it myself!.

September 21, 2017
Rebeca P.

I had to pay the full price. I don’t understand how a professional company doesn’t have any consideration towards customers who just want to save a couple of bucks?

September 21, 2017
Lorely

The live chat options is really bad. They’re so slow, it’s really unprofessional. You can never get the right information in due time. That’s something they need to work on, because they come off as amateurs.

September 21, 2017
Tim

My friend and I tried them out, and we bought two different packages. Mine was more expensive, and I can honestly say there’s no real different between these packages. It’s just a ploy to get you to pay more.

September 21, 2017
Caroline O.

I expected so much more. I didn’t land any interviews with my resume, although it did look great if I may say. I was kind of disappointed, because I paid top dollar for a resume that was supposed to get me my dream job. And still nothing.

September 21, 2017
Edward

Required Field

What is your full name?
What is your email address?
A headline for your testimonial.
What do you think about us?